So did the beard come free with the baby ?

Pregnant or had a baby and wondering what ON EARTH is happening to your mind and body ? Take a look here – https://www.instagram.com/reel/ChLBYVvjkp7/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

What do you wish people had told you about what can happen to your mind and body while you are pregnant or after giving birth to your crotch goblin?

I sit here combing my newly acquired beard, inflating and deflating boobs, with a nappy on to catch the remnants of the leaky tap my bladder has become, I think, why did no one tell me these things could happen?

And I am now sprouting baby hairs. My stomach hits my thighs when I sit down due to the overhang and why is there still a whiff of eau d’ BO even though I have showered 98 times?

And my mind? Well. Those marbles dropped ALLLLL over the floor. NO ONE told me about motherhood and mental health. Postpartum Psychosis struck me and instead of bringing my baby home and starting my new life, we went and lived in a psychiatric ward for a while.

My mission has always been since then, to ensure women don’t feel alone. Motherhood is life changing. It is beautiful and magical and the best thing I have ever done. But it wasn’t easy. Leaky boobs, the fear of the first poo after birth, the fact that body odour seems stronger, the feeling that your organs could fall out at any moment and the realisation that you are responsible for a tiny version of yourself and that is completely terrifying.

And I think I microwaved my brain.

Can we also stop blaming women for wetting themselves? Wagging a finger about how this wouldn’t have happened if they had done their pelvic floor exercises a la kegels, doesn’t help.

I thought kegels were a bread roll.

As you were. Feel free to share.

Follow me on Instagram.com/eviecanavan

Leave a comment